My Running Spirit Is At An All Time Low

Ahhhhhhhh. Alright, Thursday and Friday were great. I was back on the training horse with some vengeance. Weight back down to 161, heck yes. I’m almost in the 150’s! I was feeling great. Last night I was beat! Plate raises with 35 kilos, 30 minutes on the treadmill at 8 minute pace, stair machine for 10 minutes. Perfect! (You can stop reading now because this next section is literally the worst thing that has happened to me in my entire life)

Then today happened. 9 miles, that was the plan. I was up at 10am, which is a goddam triumph in my book for a Saturday morning. Great light breakfast with eggs and some canadian bacon and I was set. I just had to walk to the gym because the weather is too shitty for my bike. And on the walk, my foot hurt a little bit. Just a little stress, just a bit of pain. “Not great” I thought “but once I start running, it will go away”. It didn’t. It hurt really bad once I started running. After half a mile I had to stop because it was unbearable. The walk back was even worse. I had to stop a few times to wait for the pain to go down. Urghhhh. Doctor Pat says I need to stay off it for a few days and gradually work my way up to where I was. This sucks.

This is how I feel right now.

This is bullshit! The thing that I want to do most is train and get my body into shape and my body is actively stopping me from doing that. And I might not even get to use a cane for this possible stress fracture. Bleh. I’ll pick up a pair of swimtrunks and goggles tomorrow and do that instead for a while. Until then, fuck you body.

Leave a Reply

