Double Crossed: A Screenplay

INT. CHURCH

Two priests quietly talk in the back of the church while a few people sit in the pews, silently praying. One priest is named JOHN CROSS and the other is his partner MARCUS KELLY. KELLY and CROSS are both in their early 30’s or whatever. They wear simple priestly clothes (you know, black shirt and pants with the clerical collar). I’m not sure how much I’m supposed to describe in this part, but I think I’ve set the scene. My ex-girlfriend Sam always told me that there are really strict rules about writing a script and what you can and can’t include, but seriously who cares?

CROSS

Which one is he?

KELLY

The guy in the cheap suit with the sunglasses. You sure you’re alright today?

CROSS

Of course I am, why wouldn’t you think so?

KELLY

I know you say you’ve got those Irish genes Cross, but last night you were too messed up even for my tastes.

CROSS

Thanks for the concern Mom, but I’m fine. How about I’ll get a handle on my drinking as soon as you lay off those cigarettes?

KELLY

Still, I didn’t want you to embarrass yourself in front of those nuns we were with. It sure seemed like you had eyes for that brunette, eh?

CROSS

(sarcastically)

Yeah, she’s the girl for me once I break my vow.

kelly

You’re joking, but even though the priesthood is for life, in our line of work, half of us wash out in the first three years…

CROSS

(interrupting)

I’m in my ninth year serving, so?

kelly

…and the other half are end up growing lemons in a monastery in France after fifteen. I can’t see you doing that, Cross.

cross

And miss out on all the fun you’ll be having? No thanks Kelly.

Kelly

It’s only fun when you’re around buddy. Alright, it’s showtime.

The man that they’ve spotted is in the first row of pews. He looks around nervously before standing up and walking to the back of the church with his briefcase in hand, smiling to KELLY and CROSS. They pretend to look away as he slips into a door marked OFFICE, closing the door behind him.

KELLY

He seems spooked. Either he’s new or they know we’re watching.

CROSS

Check. Let’s go.

They make the sign of the cross and bump fists.

int. church Office

It’s a small office, probably about the same size as my bedroom. Am I supposed to describe the room like that? I hope I’m being sufficiently detailed. If not, use your imagination. Make the walls whatever color you like. The man, let’s call him BAD GUY is looking through the drawers of the sole desk in the room with his briefcase open on top. KELLY and CROSS enter. BAD GUY hurriedly slams his briefcase shut.

BAD GUY

Hi there! I’m just waiting for Father Stephen. He told me over the phone to wait in his office. I was just looking for… a pen.

KELLY

(nodding towards the mug of pens already on the desk)

Stephen is out of town this week, unfortunately. Is there anything we can help you with?

BAD GUY

Oh, how unfortunate! I guess I’ll just be leaving then. Have a nice day.

CROSS

Why don’t you stick around? What is it that you were meeting with Stephen about?

BAD GUY

Oh, it was just about some personal issues I needed counseling on. I’m trying to help become a better Catholic, you know? And I don’t think I can stick around actually, I’ve got a… er, plans.

CROSS forcefully pushes BAD GUY down into a chair.

kelly

I’m sure any decent Catholic would know not to plant documents in the desk of a priest.

Cross

And what would these documents be, Kelly?

Kelly

I have a guess Cross, but how about we just take a look.

CROSS snatches the briefcase from BAD GUY and opens it up.

KELLY

Well, it looks like it is exactly what I thought it was.

BAD GUY

What’s that?

Cross

A church time sheet.

BAD GUY

What? So what? Who cares?

kelly

Drop the act, new kid. We know exactly who you’re working for and what you’re doing.

bad guy

I’m not working for nobody! I’d like to go home please.

CROSS

We’ve seen this in diocese after diocese: a congregation blown apart after a sex abuse scandal.

kelly

You and your kind need to put it to rest with this boy-fucking business. Leave it up to the Atheists to accuse the Catholic church of this garbage and turn the public against us.

cross

No priest would ever do anything like that. You scum just need to ruin us in the worst way you can.

kelly

Listen kid, it’s not too late. You don’t need to ruin another life just to win this stupid holy war. You atheists say that you’re moral too. Do the right thing.

BAD GUY

I didn’t come here to set Father Stephen up for anything! Honest!

BAD GUY’s wimpers stop and he looks at them with a crazed smile.

BAD GUY

I’m just here as bait.

The door is kicked open by BAD GUY #2 and BAD GUY pulls out a gun and points it at KELLY. Pulling a gun from his shoulder holster, CROSS shoots both BAD GUY and BAD GUY #2 without hesitation.

cross

Let’s get the hell out of here.

INT. CHURCH

KELLY and CROSS come running out of the office and duck behind the first row of pews. All while avoiding gunfire from the 3 men at the front of the church. I’m really not sure how to write an action scene. I really doubt this can be very exciting to read about when described so clinically, but I’ll do my best.

cross

(checking his ammo)

A set up for Second Orders? These atheists are getting crazier every day.

KELLY

(pulling out his gun)

Yeah, this is the first time they’ve brought firepower to a church.

The pew they’re hiding behind is becoming increasingly weak due to the gunfire. KELLY looks over and takes a shot at one of the BAD GUYS, missing.

Kelly

Such a beautiful church. Goddam monsters.

KELLY hides behind the pew again, noticing that CROSS is gone.

BAD GUYS

(yelling)

No need for you to die, fellas! We’ve got plenty to ask you back at the lab.

CROSS is sneaking up the side of the pews, keeping very low to the ground. The men continue to shoot at KELLY, unaware of CROSS.

KELLY

(to BAD GUYS)

At least we’ve got an afterlife to look forward to.

KELLY stands up again and fires away right as CROSS comes running at them from their side. Completely blindsided, he kills them before they have time to turn his direction.

CROSS

Got ’em! Alright Kelly, after we get this locked down,we need to get to the station and make sense of this mess.

CROSS pulls out a RADIO from his pocket

CROSS

Cross, we need a cleanup crew at Local 249. Five bodies, no witnesses, but neighbors may have heard shots.

(to KELLY)

Kelly! Get your ass over here. We need to barricade those doors before some old lady tries to come in. Kelly?

KELLY is on the ground, blood pooling around his body. CROSS runs over to him

KELLY

I… think… they got a lung. I should… pull through. Just need…

CROSS

Oh Jesus. You’ll be fine buddy.

(to RADIO)

Code 9! Second Order has been shot. I repeat, a Second Order has been shot. We need a med crew here now!

KELLY

I’ll… be…

(faints)

CROSS

God please help him. God please!

 

 

One thought on “Double Crossed: A Screenplay

  1. Kelly!! Although you seem kinda like a bit of an ass and the only things I know about you are your a priest with a gun and are in your early thirties, for some reason I think I should probably say this so Don’t die!!!! D: …k

Leave a Reply

